## MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Johnson County Community College was called to order by the Chair on January 3, 2024, at 10:00 am in the temporary Board Room, WCMT 111, on the JCCC campus, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, Kansas. Six Trustees were present in-person, and Trustee Rayl joined by phone.

<u>Trustees</u> Lee Cross

Nancy Ingram

Laura Smith-Everett

Mark Hamill Greg Musil Dawn Rattan Melody Rayl

## Staff

Shelli Allen, VP Student Success & Engagement Jay Antle, Professor History & Executive Director Sustainability Malinda Bryan-Smith, Executive Director, Grants Leadership & Development John Clayton, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness Deb Elder, Assistant Dean Computer Science Chris Gray, VP Strategic Communication and Marketing Tom Hall, Associate Vice President, Campus Services/Facility Planning Marguis Harris, Executive Director, Inclusion and Belonging Chris Horvat, Video Production Specialist Dixie Johnson, Emergency Management Coordinator Jeff Lewis, Professor Mathematics Rachel Lierz, EVP Finance and Administrative Services Liz Loomis, Sr. Executive Assistant, President's Office Mickey McCloud, Provost/Executive Vice President Caitlin Murphy, Special Assistant to President, President's Office Derek Nester, Senior Multimedia Engineer & Event Specialist Kelsey Nazar, VP and General Counsel Gurbhushan Singh, VP Academic Affairs Andrea Vieux, Associate Professor Political Science Janelle Vogler, VP and Chief Financial Officer

Board of Trustees January 4, 2024 Page 2

**QUORUM** 

Trustee Cross announced a quorum with 6 Trustees present with Trustee Rayl joining via phone. Trustee Rattan joined subsequently at 10:04 a.m.

PROPOSED POLICY CHANGES

A motion was made by Trustee Cross, seconded by Trustee Ingram, to accept the recommendation of the Board Chair and Vice Chair that the Board of Trustees accept the changes to Meetings of the Board Policy 112.00, as shown subsequently in the Special Board Meeting packet.

After discussion Trustee Cross withdrew his motion.

Upon further discussion, a motion was made by Trustee Cross, seconded by Trustee Ingram, which motion carried unanimously, the Board of Trustees accepted the recommendation of the Board Chair and Vice Chair to accept the changes to the Meetings of the Board Policy 112.00, with the updated redline stating that new officers and committee members will begin their duties upon the second Monday in January, consistent with K.S.A. 71-1412.

**EXECUTIVE SESSION** 

At 10:12 a.m., upon motion by Trustee Ingram, seconded by Trustee Smith-Everett, which motion carried unanimously, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 10:15 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel, in order to protect the privacy interests of the personnel to be discussed. Dr. Mickey McCloud, Ms. Rachel Lierz, Ms. Kelsey Nazar and Mr. Chris Gray were invited to attend.

The meeting reconvened at 11:00 a.m. and Trustee Cross announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

**NEW BUSINESS** 

Upon motion by Trustee Cross, seconded by Trustee Ingram, which motion carried unanimously, the Board of Trustees appointed Dr. Judy Korb as Interim President/CEO, and approved a contract with her as effective January 4, 2024.

Board of Trustees January 4, 2024 Page 3

ΔD	-	1DK	1 10 /		IТ
AII	IL 71	יואו	uivi	I F I 1	

Upon motion by Trustee Musil, seconded by Trustee Ingram, which motion carried 6-1, with Trustee Smith-Everett voting against, the Board of Trustees meeting adjourned at 11:06 a.m.

Melody Rayl	
Chair	
Laura Smith-Everett	
Vice Chair	