MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Johnson County Community College was called to order by the Chair on January 9, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. in the Hugh W. Speer Board Room, 137 General Education Building, on the JCCC campus, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, Kansas.

<u>Trustees</u> Lee Cross Nancy Ingram Laura Smith-Everett Mark Hamill Greg Musil Dawn Rattan

<u>Staff</u> Andy Bowne, President

Jason Brunkan, Sr. Multimedia Engineer & Event Specialist Rob Caffey, Vice President Information Services/ CIO John Clayton, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning and Research Brett Cooper, Associate Professor, Math Resource Center Chris Gray, Vice President, Strategic Communications & Marketing Judy Korb, Interim Executive Vice President Student Success Rachel Lierz, Associate Vice President Financial Services Liz Loomis, Sr. Executive Assistant, President's Office Mickey McCloud, EVP Academic Affairs, CAO Caitlin Murphy, Special Assistant to President, President's Office Kelsey Nazar, Vice President & General Counsel Derek Nester, Senior Multimedia Engineer & Event Specialist, Audio Visual Services Adrian Swanson, Manager Multimedia Services Pam Vassar, Interim Executive Vice President Student Services & Learner Engagement Janelle Vogler, Associate Vice President Business Services Elisa Waldman, Vice President, Workplace Development & Continuing Education

Board of Trustees January 9, 2023 Page 2	
QUORUM	Mr. Cross announced the presence of a quorum, with six board members present.
INTERVIEW OF BOARD CANDIDATES	Mr. Cross announced the candidates to be interviewed, Julie Brewer, Greg Mitchell, Clay Norkey, Melody Rayl, Zach Thomas, Jerry Williams, and Ken Selzer, for the vacant position on the Board of Trustees. He explained that each candidate will have five minutes to address the Board followed by fifteen minutes of questions and answers. Following all personal interviews, each trustee will indicate on written ballot two candidates for nomination for appointment as trustee. The ballots will be tabulated. The nomination ballot is not the election ballot. Those candidates who receive two or more votes will be announced by the Chair as eligible for the final ballot. The final ballot will then be distributed and each Trustee will select one candidate. The votes will be tallied and the candidate receiving the majority number of votes will be announced. This step may be repeated if necessary.
SELECTION OF BOARD MEMBER	The nomination ballots were as follows:
	Mr. Cross nominated Julie Brewer and Melody Rayl; Ms. Ingram nominated Melody Rayl and Jerry Williams; Ms. Smith-Everett nominated Zach Thomas and Jerry Williams; Mr. Hamill nominated Zach Thomas and Ken Selzer; Mr. Musil nominated Clay Norkey and Melody Rayl; Ms. Rattan nominated Julie Brewer and Jerry Williams.
	The candidates who received two or more votes and moved on to the final ballot included Julie Brewer, Melody Rayl, Zach Thomas and Jerry Williams.
	Mr. Cross announced that each trustee will select one individual from the four finalists on an open ballot.
	In the first final ballot round:
	Mr. Cross selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Ingram selected Melody

Board of Trustees January 9, 2023 Page 3

> Rayl; Ms. Smith-Everett selected Jerry Williams; Mr. Hamill selected Zach Thomas; Mr. Musil selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Rattan selected Jerry Williams.

Since no candidate received a majority number of votes, and the candidate that received the lowest number of votes was dropped, Mr. Cross announced that each board member will select one individual from the three finalists on the open ballot.

In the second final ballot round:

Mr. Cross selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Ingram selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Smith-Everett selected Jerry Williams; Mr. Hamill selected Zach Thomas; Mr. Musil selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Rattan selected Jerry Williams.

Since no candidate received a majority number of votes, and the candidate that received the lowest number of votes was dropped. Mr. Cross announced that each board member will select one individual from the two finalists on an open ballot.

In the third final ballot round:

Mr. Cross selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Ingram selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Smith-Everett selected Jerry Williams; Mr. Hamill selected Melody Rayl; Mr. Musil selected Melody Rayl; Ms. Rattan selected Jerry Williams

Upon motion by Ms. Ingram, seconded by Ms. Rattan, which motion unanimously 5-0-1, with Ms. Smith-Everett abstaining, Melody Rayl was appointed to fill the vacant position on the Board of Trustees. Board of Trustees January 9, 2023 Page 4

ADJOURNMENT

Upon motion by Mr. Musil seconded by Ms. Rattan, which motion carried unanimously, the meeting was adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Lee Cross Chair

Nancy Ingram Vice Chair