## MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Johnson County Community College was called to order by the Chair on December 6, 2023, at 1:00 pm in the temporary Board Room, WCMT 111, on the JCCC campus, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, Kansas. Six Trustees were present in-person, and Trustee Musil joined via Zoom.

<u>Trustees</u> Lee Cross Nancy Ingram Laura Smith-Everett Mark Hamill Greg Musil via Zoom Dawn Rattan Melody Rayl

Staff Andy Bowne, President

DeShawn Bailey, Assistant Professor Cosmetology Chris Gray, VP Strategic Communication and Marketing Chris Horvat, Video Production Specialist Rachel Lierz, EVP Finance and Administrative Services Liz Loomis, Sr. Executive Assistant, President's Office Mickey McCloud, Provost/Executive Vice President Caitlin Murphy, Special Assistant to President, President's Office Derek Nester, Senior Multimedia Engineer & Event Specialist Kelsey Nazar, VP and General Counsel Andrea Vieux, Associate Professor Political Science Janelle Vogler, VP and Chief Financial Officer

QUORUM Trustee Cross announced a quorum with all Trustees present with Trustee Musil joining via phone and Trustee Rattan in WCMT 141.

EXECUTIVE SESSION #1 At 1:01 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Ingram, seconded by Trustee Smith-Everett, which motion carried 6-0, with Trustee Rattan absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 1:05 p.m. until 1:35 p.m. for consultation with legal counsel regarding a pending legal matter, which would be deemed privileged in the attorney-client relationship. Dr. Andrew Board of Trustees December 6, 2023 Page 2

Bowne, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Ms. Kelsey Nazar and Mr. Michael
Raupp were invited to attend.

The meeting reconvened at 1:35 p.m. and Trustee Cross announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

EXECUTIVE SESSION #2 At 1:36 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Ingram, seconded by Trustee Smith-Everett, which motion carried 5-0, with Trustees Musil and Rattan absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 1:40 p.m. until 2:10 p.m. to continue an employee evaluation under the personnel matters of nonelected personnel. Dr. Andy Bowne and Ms. Kelsey Nazar were invited to attend.

Kelsey Nazar left the executive session at 1:41 p.m.

Dr. Andy Bowne left the executive session at 1:50 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 2:10 p.m. and Trustee Cross announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

EXECUTIVE SESSION #3 At 2:11 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Ingram, seconded by Trustee Rayl which motion carried 4-0, with Trustees Musil, Rattan, and Smith-Everett absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 2:15 p.m. until 3:00 p.m. to continue an employee evaluation under the personnel matters of nonelected personnel. Ms. Kelsey Nazar and Ms. Trina Rickett were invited to attend.

The meeting reconvened at 3:00 p.m. and Trustee Cross announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

ADJOURNMENT Upon motion by Trustee Ingram, seconded by Trustee Rayl, which motion carried 5-0, with Trustees Musil and Rattan absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees meeting adjourned at 3:01 p.m. Board of Trustees December 6, 2023 Page 3

> Lee Cross Chair

Nancy Ingram Vice Chair